Skip to main content

Tony Thompson - Slave (1995)

Tony Thompson fromt the 90's group Hi-Five released his solo album in 95 entitled "Sexational".

Once again, DeVante produced a track called "Slave" with the help of some Bassment members: Darryl Pearson is co-producer, Missy Elliott worked on the track too, but there's some others guest on the track, just look at the credit:

Do you notice something special ???
Background vocals by Steve Jawan, that means Static for Steve & Smokey for Jawan, both of them are on the background vocals with Missy. DeVante at the end of the song has a talking part, again, he says Static name, did i told you Static was his fav artist out of the Bassment Crew???


  1. You can hear Static in the background starting at 3:47!!

  2. My goodness this rolls...1 time for D Swing the originator!!! 1 time for Stevie Major and Jawann digglera!!!

    'u knoowww u waaannnt me toooo'

  3. I think it was on the Thomas Crown blog where I first heard this, one of DeVante's artists named Kurt "Cobain" something had commented & hinted that the Slave reference in Justin Timberlake's SexyBack had to do with this song ... B Cox also said in the Vibe article that you could hear Static all in JT's 2nd album & you could tell he studied him

  4. RIP to tony thompson ,i just found that out amazin he passed at age 31, anotha lost in the game way to young. Stevie G u know U R Missed Bruh.........4life

  5. song is nice n a lil


Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Rashad Haughton (Aaliyah's Brother) on Static

I recently hit up Rashad Haughton, who is Aaliyah's brother and was very close to her, on Twitter to ask about Static. Here is what he had to say. Full interview to follow??

Music: Static Suppertime Mixtape Vol. 1 (2004) DOWNLOAD LINK

1. Stay Laced (Featuring Lil Flip) (4:14)
2. The Hood (Featuring Lil Flip) (3:41)
3. Rida (Featuring Lil Flip & Cassidy) (2:45)
4. She Say (Featuring Playa) (3:58)
5. Rollin (3:49)
6. Hard Tymez (Featuring Lil Flip) (2:40)
7. Weekend (Featuring Playa) (3:50)
8. Tipsy (3:23)

I've heard back in 2005 somebody talk about that "Suppertime Mixtape", but i found it in 2008, & unfortunaly, the mixtape was just available in mp3 format.
Released with no real promotion (but Louisville resident as i know, had this mixtape for a while), i guess lot of us didn't know about it until lately.
This is for the hood lovers, got Lil Flip on it, Young Sears productions, it's OG Music here! We also got Playa songs on it.
I guess Static wanted to give us just a taste of what Suppertime could be, the "Vol. 1" meaned it had to has other volume coming, but for this one like i said, it's OG Music except the last track...

Edit: You can listen & buy the mixtape here

UPDATE: So we…