Skip to main content

Music: Playa - Aaliyah, Aaliyah

As we continue the Aaliyah theme...

I'll be honest with ya'll when I say this song actually got me emotional when I first heard it.


  1. This a wonderful tribute to Baby Girl...Playa brings the emotions/vocals/ n harmonies. One of my favz off the mixtape

  2. R.I.P. Babygirl. I've had this record in the archives since a couple months after she passed. I really wanted to share it with all of you because quite honestly not a lot of people heard it! The recording of it was a very emotional time! I remember like it was yesterday. We recorded it in Statics studio in his basement!

  3. Damn Neeze that's heavy..I don't thnk i could've sat through that session and I never even laid eyes on her,, I couldn't imagine knowing her and bein n the studio for this one. RIP dynamic duo (stats and babygirl). such a shame.....


Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Rashad Haughton (Aaliyah's Brother) on Static

I recently hit up Rashad Haughton, who is Aaliyah's brother and was very close to her, on Twitter to ask about Static. Here is what he had to say. Full interview to follow??

Music: Static Suppertime Mixtape Vol. 1 (2004) DOWNLOAD LINK

1. Stay Laced (Featuring Lil Flip) (4:14)
2. The Hood (Featuring Lil Flip) (3:41)
3. Rida (Featuring Lil Flip & Cassidy) (2:45)
4. She Say (Featuring Playa) (3:58)
5. Rollin (3:49)
6. Hard Tymez (Featuring Lil Flip) (2:40)
7. Weekend (Featuring Playa) (3:50)
8. Tipsy (3:23)

I've heard back in 2005 somebody talk about that "Suppertime Mixtape", but i found it in 2008, & unfortunaly, the mixtape was just available in mp3 format.
Released with no real promotion (but Louisville resident as i know, had this mixtape for a while), i guess lot of us didn't know about it until lately.
This is for the hood lovers, got Lil Flip on it, Young Sears productions, it's OG Music here! We also got Playa songs on it.
I guess Static wanted to give us just a taste of what Suppertime could be, the "Vol. 1" meaned it had to has other volume coming, but for this one like i said, it's OG Music except the last track...

Edit: You can listen & buy the mixtape here

UPDATE: So we…