Skip to main content

Music: Playa "Let It Go"

If you've heard this song by Playa and the beat sounds familiar, that's because it should. Alicia Keys released "You Don't Know My Name" with the same beat in 2003 and the song reached #3 on the Billboard Top 100. Although we don't know the story of why the beat, which was produced by Kanye West, is used for two different songs, I might venture a guess at it. You see, once it was realized Playa's second album would not be released and thus "Let It Go" would be shelved, I'm pretty sure Kanye wanted to capitalize his gains on the beat and sold it to Alicia. Maybe Tim can clarify, as this is just my guess!

Here is the Alicia Keys song for comparison purposes. Which do you like better?


  1. Tim "Neeze" BarnettJanuary 2, 2010 at 8:38 AM

    Static wrote this song for Playa in 2002. We got the track from Kanye while we were working with Brandy. It was originally suppose to be for her album.

  2. Wow, this is amazing! I like Playa's version much more than Alicia's version. Is there download link in Music Download? Center? Pls, share it! :-) B.

  3. This is actually on the Playa "Unreleased Compilation" that Smokey released and has for sale, so I'm not sure if we can share it. Go support that though, it's well worth the money!

  4. @B, I'll upload it for you now

  5. Thanks Buddha! This song is amazing! B.

  6. Of course i ride w/ Smokey's version of the trax. It's raw and the harmonies on it are hot. Alicia made the trax a hot single, but Smoke made it a HOT song. It's Playa/Static All Day!

  7. I like looking at Alicia while I listen lol, I like both songs, they each personalized it, Playa went with their old school influence, Alicia played keys over top ... and I always liked the way Static and the rest of the group were able to write over loop beats and still bring out full songwriting with bridges and everything, my favorite example is that Tru Entertainer track, its just the drums and that guitar, but they did their thing


Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Rashad Haughton (Aaliyah's Brother) on Static

I recently hit up Rashad Haughton, who is Aaliyah's brother and was very close to her, on Twitter to ask about Static. Here is what he had to say. Full interview to follow??

Music: Static Suppertime Mixtape Vol. 1 (2004) DOWNLOAD LINK

1. Stay Laced (Featuring Lil Flip) (4:14)
2. The Hood (Featuring Lil Flip) (3:41)
3. Rida (Featuring Lil Flip & Cassidy) (2:45)
4. She Say (Featuring Playa) (3:58)
5. Rollin (3:49)
6. Hard Tymez (Featuring Lil Flip) (2:40)
7. Weekend (Featuring Playa) (3:50)
8. Tipsy (3:23)

I've heard back in 2005 somebody talk about that "Suppertime Mixtape", but i found it in 2008, & unfortunaly, the mixtape was just available in mp3 format.
Released with no real promotion (but Louisville resident as i know, had this mixtape for a while), i guess lot of us didn't know about it until lately.
This is for the hood lovers, got Lil Flip on it, Young Sears productions, it's OG Music here! We also got Playa songs on it.
I guess Static wanted to give us just a taste of what Suppertime could be, the "Vol. 1" meaned it had to has other volume coming, but for this one like i said, it's OG Music except the last track...

Edit: You can listen & buy the mixtape here

UPDATE: So we…