Skip to main content

Static Major March Madness Matchup 7 Winner: Aaliyah "Are You That Somebody"

Click Here to View the Full Bracket


  1. Aaliyah "Are You That Somebody"

  2. Not fair...u should put "city lights" up against another one of his, more under the radar joints. Everybody is going to be biased b/c "Are You" was such a smash. In my opinion.

  3. BL, the way we did it, we ranked the songs that were the biggest hits highest, and matched those up in the first round against songs that didn't chart. It was only fair to do it this way, we couldn't have for example "Try Again" vs. "Are you That Somebody" in the first round.

  4. Oh I got u cuzz....damn...well I love City Lights match for "ARE YOU"...Gotta give it to babygirl!!

  5. Are you that somebody?...

  6. Aaliyah "Are You That Somebody"... Jojo City Lights is dope but not better than Aaliyah...


Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Rashad Haughton (Aaliyah's Brother) on Static

I recently hit up Rashad Haughton, who is Aaliyah's brother and was very close to her, on Twitter to ask about Static. Here is what he had to say. Full interview to follow??

Music: Static Suppertime Mixtape Vol. 1 (2004) DOWNLOAD LINK

1. Stay Laced (Featuring Lil Flip) (4:14)
2. The Hood (Featuring Lil Flip) (3:41)
3. Rida (Featuring Lil Flip & Cassidy) (2:45)
4. She Say (Featuring Playa) (3:58)
5. Rollin (3:49)
6. Hard Tymez (Featuring Lil Flip) (2:40)
7. Weekend (Featuring Playa) (3:50)
8. Tipsy (3:23)

I've heard back in 2005 somebody talk about that "Suppertime Mixtape", but i found it in 2008, & unfortunaly, the mixtape was just available in mp3 format.
Released with no real promotion (but Louisville resident as i know, had this mixtape for a while), i guess lot of us didn't know about it until lately.
This is for the hood lovers, got Lil Flip on it, Young Sears productions, it's OG Music here! We also got Playa songs on it.
I guess Static wanted to give us just a taste of what Suppertime could be, the "Vol. 1" meaned it had to has other volume coming, but for this one like i said, it's OG Music except the last track...

Edit: You can listen & buy the mixtape here

UPDATE: So we…