Skip to main content

Interview: Stevie J

Here is the interview we did with Stevie J aka The Hitman. He gives us some great insight on not only working with Static, but also a lot of great information behind some of the songs he's produced. He also talks about the state of music today and where it's at.

Make sure you follow him at @hitmansteviej and visit his website:


  1. Once Again my hats off to u slammmerrrrssss,great interview. Thank TSM ........4life

  2. great interview, its always good to hear the back story so you can fill in the blanks, & then the last minute comments about working with Playa should be music to any Playa fan or fans of true R&B in general ... hopefully we'll get to see that come to pass in some form or another

  3. I did listen to this interview, but didn't leave a comment. I think this is one of the best interviews (can't beat the Rudy interview however). You had a lot of time with him and i think that some of the previous interviews are rushed, but we learnt a lot from this one, and it's great.


  4. Great interview, Slam. Listened to this while at work this afternoon. Work it out is one of my favorite Carl Tomas songs.


  5. Nice interview! I've always heard about Stevie J, and never knew that he was in Da Bassment back in the day and did as many songs as he did!

  6. Loved this fav by a fan it touched on a lot of history im fond of and will always keep in my heart...thanks guys!!


Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Music: Static Suppertime Mixtape Vol. 1 (2004) DOWNLOAD LINK

1. Stay Laced (Featuring Lil Flip) (4:14)
2. The Hood (Featuring Lil Flip) (3:41)
3. Rida (Featuring Lil Flip & Cassidy) (2:45)
4. She Say (Featuring Playa) (3:58)
5. Rollin (3:49)
6. Hard Tymez (Featuring Lil Flip) (2:40)
7. Weekend (Featuring Playa) (3:50)
8. Tipsy (3:23)

I've heard back in 2005 somebody talk about that "Suppertime Mixtape", but i found it in 2008, & unfortunaly, the mixtape was just available in mp3 format.
Released with no real promotion (but Louisville resident as i know, had this mixtape for a while), i guess lot of us didn't know about it until lately.
This is for the hood lovers, got Lil Flip on it, Young Sears productions, it's OG Music here! We also got Playa songs on it.
I guess Static wanted to give us just a taste of what Suppertime could be, the "Vol. 1" meaned it had to has other volume coming, but for this one like i said, it's OG Music except the last track...

Edit: You can listen & buy the mixtape here

UPDATE: So we…

Rashad Haughton (Aaliyah's Brother) on Static

I recently hit up Rashad Haughton, who is Aaliyah's brother and was very close to her, on Twitter to ask about Static. Here is what he had to say. Full interview to follow??