Skip to main content

Upcoming Interview: Craig Kallman (Friday)

Many of you guys are probably saying "who?" Well to provide a little background information about Craig, he is the Chairman and CEO of Atlantic Records. Along with that, he's connected to Static in many ways as he was heavily involved in starting the careers of artists like Aaliyah, Missy Elliott, Timbaland, Brandy, Pretty Ricky and Pleasure P; all of whom have worked with Static. He's given us an opportunity to ask him some questions and like always, we want to hear your questions.


  1. What did you think of Aaliyah upon meeting her for the first time, and can you tell us some fond memories of her?

    How did you feel about Aaliyah's third album and how do you think she had grown from her first album to her last?

    How did you get a start in the music business?

    Lastly,what do you feel the state of R&B is in today? In your opinion, has it improved or suffered since you have been at Atlantic Records?

  2. A lot of people are saying that they prefer old school 80's/90's music than modern day music - do you think that the music industry is turning the wrong direction and less new talent are coming in?


  3. what about Static made you want to work with him so much even though he wasn't signed to Atlantic?


Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Rashad Haughton (Aaliyah's Brother) on Static

I recently hit up Rashad Haughton, who is Aaliyah's brother and was very close to her, on Twitter to ask about Static. Here is what he had to say. Full interview to follow??

Music: Static Suppertime Mixtape Vol. 1 (2004) DOWNLOAD LINK

1. Stay Laced (Featuring Lil Flip) (4:14)
2. The Hood (Featuring Lil Flip) (3:41)
3. Rida (Featuring Lil Flip & Cassidy) (2:45)
4. She Say (Featuring Playa) (3:58)
5. Rollin (3:49)
6. Hard Tymez (Featuring Lil Flip) (2:40)
7. Weekend (Featuring Playa) (3:50)
8. Tipsy (3:23)

I've heard back in 2005 somebody talk about that "Suppertime Mixtape", but i found it in 2008, & unfortunaly, the mixtape was just available in mp3 format.
Released with no real promotion (but Louisville resident as i know, had this mixtape for a while), i guess lot of us didn't know about it until lately.
This is for the hood lovers, got Lil Flip on it, Young Sears productions, it's OG Music here! We also got Playa songs on it.
I guess Static wanted to give us just a taste of what Suppertime could be, the "Vol. 1" meaned it had to has other volume coming, but for this one like i said, it's OG Music except the last track...

Edit: You can listen & buy the mixtape here

UPDATE: So we…