Skip to main content

Da Bassment Compilation: Sugah - Sugar and Spice

Here is a rare exclusive for everyone. We've all heard Bassment material by Playa, Missy (Sista), Ginuwine, Timbalad & Magoo but we've never heard anything from Sugah. So today we present to you "Sugar and Spice" which was produced by Timbaland and written by Missy Elliott.

Some of the Aaliyah fans may recognize this title because Jomo Hankerson spoke about the song in an article back in the day:

"In the process of recording One in a Million, we got a demo from Timbaland and Missy. The song was called “Sugar and Spice,” which felt a little too kiddie to us, but the structure of the record, the melody, had what became Tim’s signature triplebeat on it. We were overwhelmed, and we sent it to Aaliyah. She called us back like, The track is crazy, this is the best thing I’ve ever heard. So we flew Timbaland and Missy into Detroit to work with her."

So is this the same song? You betcha it is. So we've let you guys into Sugah's world and we've also solved an Aaliyah mystery. Now the question remains, did Aaliyah record the song? Something we'll probably never know, but until then enjoy the sounds of Susan, Rolita and Tweet.

And stay tuned as we will post the interview with Tweet soon.

Check out more info about the song


  1. now this is a true treat for any real timb missy / superfriend fanI I live for these unreleased tracks like finding treasure this is truly amazing long live the music

  2. OKAY , MAN this is RAW(in my big daddy kane voice).......4life

  3. the instrumental to this is CRAZY!! what i wouldn't give to have the bassment back together making hits like this.


  5. finally lol. it amazes me of how long tweet actually been in the game

  6. it's amazing to hear sugah's song.thx!

    My blog introduced this article& this blog.
    Please check it if you would:-)

  7. this is dope & I like Tha Truth's version too


Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Music: Static Suppertime Mixtape Vol. 1 (2004) DOWNLOAD LINK

1. Stay Laced (Featuring Lil Flip) (4:14)
2. The Hood (Featuring Lil Flip) (3:41)
3. Rida (Featuring Lil Flip & Cassidy) (2:45)
4. She Say (Featuring Playa) (3:58)
5. Rollin (3:49)
6. Hard Tymez (Featuring Lil Flip) (2:40)
7. Weekend (Featuring Playa) (3:50)
8. Tipsy (3:23)

I've heard back in 2005 somebody talk about that "Suppertime Mixtape", but i found it in 2008, & unfortunaly, the mixtape was just available in mp3 format.
Released with no real promotion (but Louisville resident as i know, had this mixtape for a while), i guess lot of us didn't know about it until lately.
This is for the hood lovers, got Lil Flip on it, Young Sears productions, it's OG Music here! We also got Playa songs on it.
I guess Static wanted to give us just a taste of what Suppertime could be, the "Vol. 1" meaned it had to has other volume coming, but for this one like i said, it's OG Music except the last track...

Edit: You can listen & buy the mixtape here

UPDATE: So we…

Rashad Haughton (Aaliyah's Brother) on Static

I recently hit up Rashad Haughton, who is Aaliyah's brother and was very close to her, on Twitter to ask about Static. Here is what he had to say. Full interview to follow??