Skip to main content

Music: Brandy - Come As You Are

One of my favourite Brandy songs of all time and also one of my favourite Static songs of all time. I certainly felt this song would have at least advanced to the second round of the March Madness, but oh well.

You may also recognize this beat because it was in a clip from Jay-Z's Fade to Black DVD.

As you can already tell, the drums are slightly different from the Timbaland/Jay-Z clip.

Here's something for you to listen though:

This is Static's demo of the track for Brandy. The elements of the beat are the same, but it seems Timbaland revamped the beat by adding more sounds to the final version (Brandy).

Edit: Shout to Dude over at the Brandy forum for hooking me up with another version of "Come As U Are".

This version was on the Afrodisiac album sampler. Notice the crazy bass line on the song? The drums are different as well, from both the Static version and the final version of the song. I wonder why Timbaland changed it.


  1. This shit is CRAZY!!!! love da Static demo..once again like La La Land tho, Static did a betta job on the demo than the final song done by Brandy. But Brandy still gets hers too. Hands down. Damn Static just come correct n all he do..wats do definition of an overachiever? Shit, the man who this blog site is all about

  2. I agree with anonymous, Static's versions are always better. thanks for posting this!
    Timbaland should've kept the very first version of the beat though (I have a snippet of that), in which he used more keyboard elements..that sounded even better

  3. How do u set up an acct wit this blogsite?

  4. @Anonymous, you have to set up a google account. Go to google and type in "google accounts" and it should be the first option.

  5. Nice Up...its crazy to hear how songs progress from demos to final Statics case i love to hear what he did before he gave the song to someone's amazing hearing the diff.


Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Music: Static Suppertime Mixtape Vol. 1 (2004) DOWNLOAD LINK

1. Stay Laced (Featuring Lil Flip) (4:14)
2. The Hood (Featuring Lil Flip) (3:41)
3. Rida (Featuring Lil Flip & Cassidy) (2:45)
4. She Say (Featuring Playa) (3:58)
5. Rollin (3:49)
6. Hard Tymez (Featuring Lil Flip) (2:40)
7. Weekend (Featuring Playa) (3:50)
8. Tipsy (3:23)

I've heard back in 2005 somebody talk about that "Suppertime Mixtape", but i found it in 2008, & unfortunaly, the mixtape was just available in mp3 format.
Released with no real promotion (but Louisville resident as i know, had this mixtape for a while), i guess lot of us didn't know about it until lately.
This is for the hood lovers, got Lil Flip on it, Young Sears productions, it's OG Music here! We also got Playa songs on it.
I guess Static wanted to give us just a taste of what Suppertime could be, the "Vol. 1" meaned it had to has other volume coming, but for this one like i said, it's OG Music except the last track...

Edit: You can listen & buy the mixtape here

UPDATE: So we…

Rashad Haughton (Aaliyah's Brother) on Static

I recently hit up Rashad Haughton, who is Aaliyah's brother and was very close to her, on Twitter to ask about Static. Here is what he had to say. Full interview to follow??