Skip to main content

Question of the Week #2

Even though Static was still grinding hard with the group Playa, he ventured out and soon became an accomplished songwriter.

So the question today is, "What is your favourite Static-penned track by a female artist (female group)?

This is another hard one for me because it's hard enough choosing from Aaliyah's catalogue. Then when you add in all the songs that he's done for artists like Brandy, Nicole Wray and Truth Hurts, it becomes a hard question to really answer.

I'm going to have to go with "Are You That Somebody?" or "Try Again" by Aaliyah. It would be impossible for me to choose from these two because really, they're both on my "top 5 songs of all time"." I'm going to go with "Are You That Somebody" though, just because of how unique the song is, and also because of the fact that I got my Rock music listening friend listening to Aaliyah because of that song.



  2. No doubt about this one....ROCK THA BOAT!!!!!

  3. Loose Rap/ Those were the days/ Read between the lines

  4. Oh man, that's really tough. I love "Loose Rap" though, that song is crazy!

  5. "Are You That Somebody?" and "Erica Kane" tie for top favorite! Absolutely amazing!

  6. "Are You That Somebody?" and "Erica Kane" tie for my favorite. Those songs are so infectious.

  7. Steady Ground with Aaliyah is the best in my opinion. its a classic.

  8. "CITY LIGHTS" by JOJO...yea don't try to act like yall was up on that one. That track shows his versatility in the game...a young nigga from the west end of Louisville writing a SMASH like that for a 16/17 yr old girl from Suburban BOSTON?!?! fuck outta here if he wasn't the coldest w/ that to the KING

  9. I love all his stuff w/ baby girl...but I would have to say Brandy "Come as U r" can feel Static all over the arrangements. To hear her sing over Timbaland traxz were amazing for me.


Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Rashad Haughton (Aaliyah's Brother) on Static

I recently hit up Rashad Haughton, who is Aaliyah's brother and was very close to her, on Twitter to ask about Static. Here is what he had to say. Full interview to follow??

Music: Static Suppertime Mixtape Vol. 1 (2004) DOWNLOAD LINK

1. Stay Laced (Featuring Lil Flip) (4:14)
2. The Hood (Featuring Lil Flip) (3:41)
3. Rida (Featuring Lil Flip & Cassidy) (2:45)
4. She Say (Featuring Playa) (3:58)
5. Rollin (3:49)
6. Hard Tymez (Featuring Lil Flip) (2:40)
7. Weekend (Featuring Playa) (3:50)
8. Tipsy (3:23)

I've heard back in 2005 somebody talk about that "Suppertime Mixtape", but i found it in 2008, & unfortunaly, the mixtape was just available in mp3 format.
Released with no real promotion (but Louisville resident as i know, had this mixtape for a while), i guess lot of us didn't know about it until lately.
This is for the hood lovers, got Lil Flip on it, Young Sears productions, it's OG Music here! We also got Playa songs on it.
I guess Static wanted to give us just a taste of what Suppertime could be, the "Vol. 1" meaned it had to has other volume coming, but for this one like i said, it's OG Music except the last track...

Edit: You can listen & buy the mixtape here

UPDATE: So we…