Skip to main content

Music: Playa - If You Scared, Then Say You Scared (Smoke Comments on Static as a Person)

Here is Static and Smokey performing "If You Scared, Then Say You Scared" live. This is a really moving performance right here, and this right here is the essence of r&b music.

Here is Smokey singing his version of the song which appeared on his last album "The Truth in The Booth."

Also, I recently had a chance to interview Smoke, and here are his thoughts on Static Major as a person:

Smoke: He was cooler than a fan. He was a workaholic. He knew what he wanted, was put in a great situation to get it, and got it! Very blessed person. I'm very proud of his accomplishments. Easy to work with, too. Luv him & miss him, STILL!

Click Here to read the full interview, where Smoke talks about everything from his time spent in Playa, to working with Static Major, to running his own record label and developing his own artists.


  1. You just don't find REAL music like this anymore!!!!


Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Rashad Haughton (Aaliyah's Brother) on Static

I recently hit up Rashad Haughton, who is Aaliyah's brother and was very close to her, on Twitter to ask about Static. Here is what he had to say. Full interview to follow??

Music: Static Suppertime Mixtape Vol. 1 (2004) DOWNLOAD LINK

1. Stay Laced (Featuring Lil Flip) (4:14)
2. The Hood (Featuring Lil Flip) (3:41)
3. Rida (Featuring Lil Flip & Cassidy) (2:45)
4. She Say (Featuring Playa) (3:58)
5. Rollin (3:49)
6. Hard Tymez (Featuring Lil Flip) (2:40)
7. Weekend (Featuring Playa) (3:50)
8. Tipsy (3:23)

I've heard back in 2005 somebody talk about that "Suppertime Mixtape", but i found it in 2008, & unfortunaly, the mixtape was just available in mp3 format.
Released with no real promotion (but Louisville resident as i know, had this mixtape for a while), i guess lot of us didn't know about it until lately.
This is for the hood lovers, got Lil Flip on it, Young Sears productions, it's OG Music here! We also got Playa songs on it.
I guess Static wanted to give us just a taste of what Suppertime could be, the "Vol. 1" meaned it had to has other volume coming, but for this one like i said, it's OG Music except the last track...

Edit: You can listen & buy the mixtape here

UPDATE: So we…